Welcome to Backcountry Women!

Join an amazing community of women who love engaging in different activities to experience nature first-hand while gaining confidence and knowledge of the outdoors.

Backcountry Women is a community driven organization connecting like minded women who love spending time outside. Located in Manitoba, Canada, we offer diverse activities throughout the year for varying experience levels: from beginner to more adventure-seeking, from social to adventurous, all in a positive welcoming space with the opportunity to get outside your comfort zone.

We make spending time outside easier, so pack your bag and leave the organizing to us! Join us at one of our upcoming events!

Our home base is located in Treaty One Territory, the ancestral lands of Cree, Dakota, and Anishinaabe nations, as well as the homeland of the Métis Nation.

 Become a Member!

Memberships provide benefits and savings for the cost of under $6 per month (about the same amount you're spending on coffee)! In return, you're supporting our offerings while also:

  • Saving an average of $150 annually compared to non-members ($10-$15 for each event we offer; a variety of our events have free registration to members only)
  • Receiving exclusive member discounts and offers 
  • Getting notified of all new events so you have the first chance to register
  • Receiving exclusive content and offers through our members-only page!

Join us


Join Our Community

Did you know we have an active community forum on our Facebook group you can access for FREE? Join us here!

Find us on instagram

To see what we've been up to, visit our profile!

Upcoming events

Upcoming events

    • Mon, January 25, 2021
    • 6:30 PM - 8:00 PM (CST)
    • Online on Zoom
    • 24
    Register

    DEADLINE TO REGISTER: BY MIDNIGHT, 2 DAYS BEFORE THE EVENT (JAN 23)

    PLEASE READ THE REQUIREMENTS AND ALL DETAILS BELOW PRIOR TO REGISTRATION

    Enjoy winter and explore Manitoba!

    Things change in the winter; activities we enjoy in the summer aren’t going to be the same when the temperatures drop and there’s snow and ice on the ground.

    However, it’s time for those of us on the Prairies to embrace this next season - there's no need to hibernate in the winter! It's important to get out and explore this beautiful province and experience adventure, even when the temps dip.

    Winter is an opportunity to practice a variety of skills and grow our knowledge of the outdoors. We want to help you learn to plan and prepare accordingly so that our experiences are safe and rewarding during an adventure. 

    This is where our Winter Essentials workshop and Prairie Winter Guide comes in!

    Let's learn about facing colder temperatures with a focus on safety and reducing risks by preparing by packing our bags and layering appropriately. We will go over the Ten Essentials of hiking for the winter in this workshop, and provide a variety of gear examples with opportunities to discuss them and have your winter adventure questions answered. We want to help you think about potential risks, prepare, and get out there to have fun!

    Join Backcountry Women and professional local guide Matt Peters from Wilderland Adventure Co. to talk about winter essentials and get excited about planning some winter adventures!

    Along with our Winter Essentials Workshop, we are also doing a draw! Enter to win an Adventure for 2 Kit ($100 value!):

    • 2 Bannock & Toppings
    • 2 Metal Camp Mugs & Hot Chocolate
    • Fire Starter Bundle (Kindling)
    • 2 Snowshoe Rental Gift Certificates

    To enter, you must be registered for and attend the workshop - the draw will take place at the end. A huge thanks to Wilderland for the support and generosity!

    This workshop also includes our Prairie Winter Guide digital handout ($20 value!)! Our Prairie Winter Guide is a comprehensive (20+ page) guide that goes beyond the Winter Essentials topic to include information on:

    • The 10 Essentials (Winter) - what to pack including examples

    • Layering appropriately for winter activity

    • Winter footwear tips

    • Bonus essentials you may need to consider 

    • What to know before you go, and planning for winter adventures

    • Winter travel tips

    • Four legged friends on the trail

    • Being environmentally responsible on trail

    • Plus winter trail options to explore in Manitoba, including those for hiking, skiing and snowshoeing

    We look forward to seeing you at our online workshop!

    Time & location: The workshop begins promptly at 6:30 PM CST. This will be an interactive online workshop that will run approximately 1.5 hours. Participants will need a free Zoom account. Further instructions will be emailed out to participants; please download and test your account access prior to the date of the workshop. Participants will receive the course handout prior to the workshop.

      Further details will be provided to registered participants. Participants are responsible for having a valid e-mail address, communicating with the event organizer regarding any changes in attendance, and for checking e-mail prior to an event.

      This event allows cancellation no less than 5 days before start of event. If you are no longer able to attend, please see our Cancellation Policy.

    Past events

    Wed, January 13, 2021 Monthly Members “Fireside” Chat
    Mon, December 21, 2020 Winter Essentials Workshop
    Thu, December 10, 2020 Monthly Members “Fireside” Chat
    Thu, November 05, 2020 Monthly Members “Fireside” Chat
    Sat, October 31, 2020 Halloween Howl Full Moon Hike
    Sat, October 31, 2020 Halloween Hunt Lake Trail Hike
    Tue, October 27, 2020 Happy Trails Hike
    Sun, October 25, 2020 Whiteshell River Trail Hike
    Sat, October 24, 2020 Bear Lake Hike
    Tue, October 20, 2020 Happy Trails Hike
    Sun, October 18, 2020 Mantario Day Hike: South Trailhead to Caribou West Campsite
    Tue, October 13, 2020 Monthly Members “Fireside” Chat
    Tue, October 06, 2020 Happy Trails Hike
    Sat, October 03, 2020 McGillivaray Falls Hike
    Tue, September 29, 2020 Happy Trails Hike
    Tue, September 22, 2020 Happy Trails Hike
    Mon, September 21, 2020 St. Boniface Urban Bike Ride
    Tue, September 15, 2020 Happy Trails Hike
    Sat, September 12, 2020 Pine Point Rapids Fall Hike
    Thu, September 10, 2020 Paddle Night with Prairie Paddlers
    Thu, August 27, 2020 Paddle Night with Prairie Paddlers
    Tue, August 25, 2020 Happy Trails (and Tails) Hike
    Sat, August 22, 2020 Gorge Creek Trail Hike
    Fri, August 21, 2020 Riding Mountain Weekend
    Tue, August 18, 2020 Happy Trails (and Tails) Hike
    Tue, August 11, 2020 Happy Trails Hike
    Fri, August 07, 2020 Nutimik Weekend
    Tue, August 04, 2020 Monthly Members “Fireside” Chat
    Thu, July 30, 2020 Paddle Night with Prairie Paddlers
    Tue, July 28, 2020 Happy Trails Hike
    Sat, July 18, 2020 Introduction to Hunt Lake
    Thu, July 16, 2020 Paddle Night with Prairie Paddlers
    Tue, July 14, 2020 Happy Trails Hike
    Sun, July 12, 2020 Lost Lake Trail Hike
    Thu, July 09, 2020 Ten Essentials of Hiking Workshop
    Tue, July 07, 2020 Monthly Members “Fireside” Chat
    Sat, July 04, 2020 Mantario North - Beginner Overnight Hike
    Tue, June 30, 2020 Happy Trails Hike
    Thu, June 25, 2020 Paddle Night with Prairie Paddlers
    Thu, June 18, 2020 Nature Inspired Journaling Walk
    Tue, June 16, 2020 Happy Trails (and Tails) Hike
    Thu, June 11, 2020 Paddle Night with Prairie Paddlers
    Tue, June 09, 2020 Monthly Members “Fireside” Chat
    Sun, June 07, 2020 Hunt Lake Trail Hike
    Tue, June 02, 2020 Happy Trails Hike
    Tue, May 26, 2020 Backpacking Basics Workshop
    Sat, May 23, 2020 Amisk/Inverness Falls Hike
    Sat, May 23, 2020 Devils Punchbowl and Spirit Sands Hike
    Tue, May 19, 2020 Happy Trails Hike
    Tue, May 05, 2020 *ONLINE* Monthly Members “Fireside” Chat
    Wed, April 22, 2020 Women's Climb Night
    Thu, April 09, 2020 *ONLINE* Fundamentals of Dehydrating Your Own Trail Food
    Tue, April 07, 2020 *ONLINE* Monthly Members “Fireside” Chat
    Sat, March 21, 2020 Old Pinawa Dam Adventure
    Wed, March 18, 2020 Women's Climb Night
    Tue, March 17, 2020 Monthly Members “Fireside” Chat
    Sat, March 14, 2020 Alpine Day at Falcon Resort (w/ lesson option)
    Sun, March 08, 2020 Guided Nature Therapy Walk to Celebrate International Women's Day
    Thu, March 05, 2020 Escaladies Night Ice Tower Climb
    Fri, February 28, 2020 Riding Mountain overnight oTENTik adventure
    Thu, February 27, 2020 Evening Cross Country Ski At Windsor Park Nordic Centre
    Wed, February 26, 2020 Women's Climb Night
    Wed, February 19, 2020 Evening Skate at Harbourview Recreation Complex
    Sat, February 08, 2020 Snow Moon Hike
    Wed, February 05, 2020 Women's Climb Night
    Tue, February 04, 2020 Monthly Members “Fireside” Chat
    Thu, January 30, 2020 Escaladies Night Ice Tower Climb
    Tue, January 28, 2020 Evening Cross Country Ski in Kildonan Park
    Sat, January 25, 2020 Snow Much Fun Getaway
    Wed, January 22, 2020 Climb On! Women's Belay Course
    Sun, January 19, 2020 Winter Adventure to Pine Point Rapids
    Tue, January 07, 2020 Monthly Members “Fireside” Chat
    Sun, December 15, 2019 Break from Holiday Mayhem hike/snowshoe
    Wed, December 11, 2019 Women's Climb Night
    Sun, December 08, 2019 Assiniboine Forest Hike


    Learn more

    Backcountry Women’s primary mandate is to unite, educate, and empower women. We define “women” broadly to include individuals who identify as cisgender, transgender, femme/feminine, genderqueer and non-binary.

    This community for outdoors women in Manitoba connects us out on the trails and beyond, and provides a forum to exchange and build our outdoor-related knowledge, skills, and self confidence.

    We provide local workshops and activities that helps us address some of the barriers we face as women in the outdoors. We also foster connection among women who love being outside and provide opportunities to join new adventures where you meet like minded people, and potentially get outside your comfort zone!

    Backcountry Women believes in a judgement free space for women to encourage and build each other up. We also believe in growing outdoor leaders through our community. Life is better outdoors!

    Recent news


    Together, we get you outdoors!

    We are passionate about building community. Thank you to Wilderness Supply for helping to support what we do!

    Current Backcountry Women members receive 10% off all in stock items (excluding Kayaks, Canoes, SUP) at Wilderness Supply when they present their membership card!



    Check out our climb night video!


    Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software